Germy germs

HOUSE OF AWESOME — As I lean over my stationary bike, I feel it …  the mixture of coleslaw, biscuits, mashed pototoes and fried chicken want to make their way back to the fast food buckets from which they came. I sit up, happy but a little scared.

For the past month, someone has been sick in my family. The youngest kid spreads whatever germ to me and I spread it to the other kids. Or as in the case this past weekend, all three kids and Mountain Papa get sick and I try to stay as healthy as possible.

Sitting up straight is helping, but man, I really hope I just ate too much bad food. I don’t have time to get sick.

Some people notice patterns when illness immerges. There are people who are sick and just act like it’s another day. Others act like every sniffle is a near-death experience, and spend a lot of time cozying up to the hand sanitizer and disinfecting wipes.

I would like to think, I go for the middle of the road. But I know I’m a wimp when it comes to certain illnesses. For me, I’m a sucker for thinking physical ailments are something more serious than what they really are. I once thought I had plantar  fasciitis but it was really a rock in the sole of my shoe.

I admit, I tend to play some of it up, especially when I don’t feel like doing something.

But sometimes, I try to tough my way through an illness and I end up sicker than I was. (See a previous post about dealing with the flu and pneumonia)

Winter always tends to be particularly bad. Due to my hayfever, I deal with allergy-induced issues all the time. In the spring, summer and fall, I have to take a nasal steroid and allergy medicine.

During the winter, I’m congested too, but also deal with allergy-induced itchy skin. My skin dries out easily in the cold and when it does, it itches. The more I itch, the worse it feels.

Now, I could insert some lame Silence of the Lambs joke here, but I won’t. It took years to figure out why I was breaking out after every workout. I sweat, I get itchy. And it sucks feeling like you’re allergic to something you love. 

But now that I know the issue and its cause, I can be prepared. And really, the family sharing of germs is about being prepared too. You go into winter knowing your kids’ classmates will share some flavor-of-the-month illnesses until spring, and you stock up on supplies, recheck the medicine cabinet, get vaccinated if possible, buy plenty of Vitamin C-carrying foods and hope for the best.

Like any race, you spend time preparing for challenges so when they occur, you have a plan of action.

One by one, the family members are bouncing back and are keeping their distance from the sicker children. It’s not a perfect system, but it is working for us.

And me, I’m trying to take it easy but work hard at the same time. I need to relax my mind and body, but sometimes the thrill of blowing off steam through a difficult workout is just as calming.

Sorry, I’m a little late in posing  this week. I will get things on track next week, when hopefully, everyone will be health again.

Leave a Reply

