Becoming a zombie? Here’s what to do

Week 2: Zombie Apocalypse Training

Well, we just finished up Week 2 of 2017. And I may say, maintaining the training has been easier now that I set a benchmark. In late February, I’ll be running a 7-mile trail race called the Hillraiser Challenge.

I’m scared and excited at the same time. The first offering of this race is a two-day affair for “elite” runners with moderate and advance trail-running skills. Those are the race director’s words, not mine. I train under him from time to time, so I know when the course description is real. It’s not a course described as “rolling hills” and then you see a big mountain to climb. It’s going to be tough, cold, and brutal.

So I’m just doing to the recently created one-day option. My goal is to survive and not be picked off the course. I don’t know if there is a time limit, but I am filled with dread.

Why am I doing it? Because it scares me, because I saw the zombies this week. And they were way to close for comfort.

This week was rather busy, I had to deal with issues with my volunteer groups. I also finalized plans for a community service project that was executed during the weekend. I dealt with rebuilding my family’s small business from the ashes due to outside forces’ attacks.

While dealing with all of this, I saw them … the zombies. They disguised themselves as people I know, who seemed to be repeating the same conversation we had a month, maybe two months ago. But they were unwilling to work to change the situation.

There were also people who were ensnared by ghosts. They felt like they were living in a dream. That the reality they were dealt was an abstract, possibly parallel universe. But here it was, I felt it in my hands  and smelled it.

Am I part of that dream? My legs and back didn’t feel like it. This week has been unkind to those parts of my body. My senses told me what was real. But my brain was being taken over by the zombies’ mind-control. I was so scattered and disjointed. Simple tasks that I deal with every week, became difficult, and my reasoning was unsound.

Was I becoming a zombie? Maybe. I tend to have issues when I’m doing too much. I think of all the possibilities without zeroing on the one task that needs to be done.

Combating zombie mind-control

So how to we focus on what’s important? Here are some things that work for me.

  • Concentrate on the now to make the week easier: What can you do today that can build on something you need later on? Maybe if you do a load of laundry today, later in the week you won’t be scrambling for kids’ clothes. You could prep for meals on a day when you’re not doing much, and have them microwave-ready for the busy days.
  • Take time for you: Just take a break. You freaking need it. Exercise, drink wine, do something you really enjoy that doesn’t revolve around errands, chores, work, etc. This can be a short or long period of time. Travis, with The Forge Athlete, recommends the 24-6 rule. For every 24 minutes of work-related activity, work really hard and concentrate on what you’re doing. Then take a six-minute break. I’ve tried this before during his 12-Day Challenge, and it works. Working out is also a great way to distress and reorganize your day.
  • Write it down: Make a list of what needs to be done. On paper or somewhere where you can carry it with you. Then prioritize your list. What has to be done now? What can wait until another day? What can be delegated? Now that you have a prioritized list, just work your way through the list.

Workout roundup

So, I signed up for the race as I began to see the signs of zombie mind-control. I have refocused my goals on the race and getting my family ready for the pending apocalypse.

This is a list of my workouts for the week and how things went.

  • Monday: 4-mile run as a group leader. This is was also a recon mission to check the path of Saturday’s event. My phone froze about half-way through the run, which sucks because I  like taking photos during my activities. It was semi-snowing and icy, so I wore my trail shoes. It was a great — no one was around and the temperature was low but felt decent. I saw some icicles in the rail-trail’s old train tunnel. They were impressive.
  • Tuesday: Sit-ups and push-ups followed by meditation. I’m trying to be more active in cultivating a holistic health approach, tackling my demons mentally and physically. This little workout gets me going.
  • Wednesday: Trash day. I usually spend this day, getting ready for the garbage pick-up and do a little cleaning. As a family of five living in a non-recycling area, we have more trash than I would like. So it all gets carried out. I guess this would be a carry-heavy-things day.
  • Thursday: I woke up late. I didn’t do anything except answer phone calls and get ready for a jam-packed Friday.
  • Friday: Explored Lowe’s (a workout itself) and lifted heavy things in the name of home improvement.
The ruck group and I.
  • Saturday: Five-mile ruck with 14 of my newest friends and a dog named Daisy.
  • Sunday: Bootcamp with Steve at the gym. This is my second attempt at this class. He actually said I was doing well. I felt with ruck during and after bootcamp. Then, I did more home improvement adventures.
Mountain kid 1 approves of the trail run.
  • Monday: Two-mile trail run with Mountain Kid 1 and a Team RWB friend, carrying a backpack. I want to try to get as much running in with Cami (my camo-colored back) as possible, since I’ll be carrying her during my trail run. Running vs. walking with a ruck is so different.

In other news


Today, I received notification that I’m a Nuun ambassador for 2017. As an ambassador, I have to promote the drink, that I have loved for several years because of it’s non-sugary taste. I also get to do other cool stuff. I’ll share the adventure with you in future posts.

So, how do you combat times when you fell scattered? Share your thoughts in the comments.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

